Indigenous Pathways to FEWS in Higher Education & Beyond

Broadening participation of Native Americans in FEWS professions

Friday, November 13th, 2020

Download the PDF version of the flyer and agenda here.
Download Program as PDF
Date & TimeEvents
Friday, November 13th, 2020Pathways to Academic Careers in FEWS

First session

9:00am – 10:30am PST
10:00am – 11:30am MST
11:00am – 12:30pm CST
12:00pm – 1:30pm EST

Introduction: Karletta Chief, University of Arizona
Moderators: Elizabeth Hoover, University of California, Berkeley

Gregory Cajete, University of New Mexico
Kathy DeerInWater, American Indian Science and Engineering Society
Gilbert John, Colorado State University
Jani Ingram, Northern Arizona University
Timberley Roane, University of Colorado, Denver

 

Friday, November 13th, 2020Pathways to Professional Practitioners in FEWS

Second session

11:00am – 12:30pm PST
12:00pm – 1:30pm MST
1:00pm – 2:30pm CST
2:00pm – 3:30pm EST

Introduction: Alice Agogino, University of California, Berkeley
Moderators: Suzanne Singer, Native Renewables

Peter Littlehat, Indian Health Services
Cassandra Casperson, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Valerie Segrest, Native American Agriculture Fund
Kern Collymore, Sixth World Solutions

Tribal College & University Partnerships in Co-InFEWS

Expanding educational and career opportunities for Indigenous students through
research in Food, Energy, and Water Systems

Friday, September 25th, 2020

Date & TimeEvents
Friday, September 25th, 2020Tribal College FEWS Capacity Building

First session

9:00am – 10:30am PDT
10:00am – 11:30am MDT
11:00am – 12:30pm CDT
12:00pm – 1:30pm EDT

Discussion with faculty and administrators from Tribal Colleges and Universities on mechanisms and practices to expand programming and student support in food-energy-water related disciplines.

Welcome: N. Levi Esquerra, Senior Vice President for Native American Advancement, University of Arizona
Introduction: Karletta Chief, Co-PI University of Arizona
Moderators: Neilroy Singer, Din
é College & Nikki Tulley, University of Arizona

Christopher Caldwell, College of Menominee Nation
Benita Litson, Diné College
John Doyle, Little Big Horn College
Steven Chischilly, Navajo Technical University
Teresa Newberry, Tohono O’Odham Community College   

Friday, September 25th, 2020Pathways to FEWS Degrees

Second session

11:00am – 12:30pm PDT
12:00pm – 1:30pm MDT
1:00pm – 2:30pm CDT
2:00pm – 3:30pm EDT

Discussion on best practices to support student advancement from High School to Associate and Bachelor degrees through to Graduate degrees and careers in food-energy-water related professions.

Introduction: Alice Agogino, PI, University of California, Berkeley
Moderators: Patrick Naranjo, University of California, Berkeley & JoRee LaFrance, University of Arizona

Mark Bauer, Diné College 
Daniel Wildcat, Haskell Indian Nations University
H. Scott Halladay, Navajo Technical University
Shandin Pete, Salish Kootenai College

Scott Cowell, University of Arizona

PAST WORKSHOP

Water Is Life: Shared Challenges, Shared Understanding, Shared Solutions

Monday, June 15, 2020 Tuesday, June 16, 2020 
Wednesday, June 17, 2020 Thursday, June 18, 2020 Friday, June 19, 2020

Download the latest PDF version of the agenda here.
   
Date & TimeEvents
Monday, June 15, 2020 

First session

10:00am – 12:00pm PDT
11:00am – 1:00pm MDT
12:00pm – 2:00pm CDT
1:00pm – 3:00pm EDT

Welcome and Orientation: 
Introduction to the workshop, including discussions about working together with Indigenous and community leaders, environmental professionals, and InFEWS educators. Introductions for Indigenous representatives: Navajo, Pinoleville Pomo, Maya, and Belize. Welcome from: 
James Tutt, Dean of the School of STEM at Diné College 
Charles Roessel, Diné College President
Avery Denny, Diné Hatałi, Traditional Medicine Practitioner  

InFEWS Background and Goals:
Overviews of programs, participants and workshop goals presented by:
Alice Agogino , UC Berkeley InFEWS Faculty
Karletta Chief, UArizona InFEWS Faculty
Maya Trotz and Rebecca Zarger, USF InFEWS Faculty
Donald Robinson, Diné College InFEWS Faculty 
Vinod Lohani, NSF, NRT Program Director

Monday, June 15, 2020 

Second session

1:00pm – 2:30pm PDT
2:00pm – 3:30pm MDT
3:00pm – 4:30pm CDT
4:00pm – 5:30pm EDT

COVID-19 and FEWS Challenges on The Navajo Nation 
Panel Discussion moderated by Dr. Karletta Chief

Panelists include:
Joseph “Angel” DeSoto, STEM and Biomedical Science Faculty at Diné College 
Shazia Tabassum Hakim, Faculty in Microbiology at Diné College
Sriram Shamasunder, Co-Founder of the HEAL Initiative at the University of California San Francisco
Duane “Chili” Yazzie, President of the Navajo Nation Shiprock Chapter 
Mae-Gilene Begay, Director of the Community Health Representative Program Response 
Sunny Dooley, Diné Cultural Expert and Storyteller

Suggested Video: 
https://www.cbsnews.com/video/coronavirus-in-navajo-nation/#x 

Tuesday, June 16, 2020 

First session

10:00am – 12:00pm PDT
11:00am – 1:00pm MDT
12:00pm – 2:00pm CDT
1:00pm – 3:00pm EDT

Indigenous FEWS: Past Practices and Innovations 
Presentations and Discussion

Indigenous co-innovation discussion of NRT FEWS programs, including a cross-pollination of best practices, challenges, and achievements across participants. Presentations from sponsoring programs: 

  • Systems Training for Research ON Geography-based Coastal Food Energy Water Systems, rebranded as Strong Coasts, University of South Florida with the University of the Virgin Islands’ STRONG-FEWS, presented by Dr. Maya Trotz and Dr. Rebecca Zarger 
  • STEM Training for Actionable Research and Global Impact, University of California – Berkeley’s Blum Center, presented by Dr. Alice Agogino and Dr. Yael Perez, in collaboration with Angela James, Vice Chair, the Pinoleville Pomo Nation, and Michelle Baker and Timonie Hood, EPA
  • Indigenous Food, Energy, and Water Security and Sovereignty, University of Arizona and Diné College, presented by Dr. Karletta Chief and Benita Litson
Tuesday, June 16, 2020 

Second session

1:00pm – 2:30pm PDT
2:00pm – 3:30pm MDT
3:00pm – 4:30pm CDT
4:00pm – 5:30pm EDT

Diné Traditional FEWS Frameworks
Presentations and Discussion 

Keynote Speakers: 
Perry H. Charley, Diné College InFEWS Faculty  
David Begay, PhD, Associate Research Professor in the UNM College of Pharmacy, Albuquerque, NM

 

 

Wednesday, June 17, 2020 

First session

10:00am – 12:00pm PDT
11:00am – 1:00pm MDT
12:00pm – 2:00pm CDT
1:00pm – 3:00pm EDT

FEWS Systems on The Navajo Nation 
Panel discussion moderated by Dr. Karletta Chief

Discussions of investigating and communicating nature and science in society. Panelists include:
Rex Kontz, NTUA 
Suzanne Singer, Native Renewables 
Benita Litson, Diné College Land Grant Office 
Stephanie Hall, Tolani Lake Farms 

Wednesday, June 17, 2020 

Second session

1:00pm – 2:30pm PDT
2:00pm – 3:30pm MDT
3:00pm – 4:30pm CDT
4:00pm – 5:30pm EDT

Decolonizing FEWS Innovation – STEAM Panel Discussion
Panel discussion moderated by Torran Anderson 

Contextualizing innovation within Indigenous communities through both science and art. Inclusion of Art in STEM (STEAM).  Topics surround what can be learned through using different methodologies. Panelists include:
Christine Ami, Diné College Professor, 
Kim Tallbear, University of Alberta Professor, 
Wahleah Johns, Native Renewables 
Nonabah Lane, Navajo Ethno Agriculture 
Emma Robbins, Dig Deep, Navajo Water Project
Sunny Dooley, Diné Cultural Expert and Storyteller

Student session

3:00pm PDT
4:00pm MDT
5:00pm CDT
6:00pm EDT

Student Networking
Opportunity for undergraduate and graduate student moderators, note takers and interns to meet and network. Additional time to prep for Thursday breakout sessions!
Thursday, June 18, 2020 

First session

10:00am – 12:00pm PDT
11:00am – 1:00pm MDT
12:00pm – 2:00pm CDT
1:00pm – 3:00pm EDT

What is Co-Design of FEWS Innovations in Indigenous Communities? 
Workshop Session Facilitated by Dr. Yael Perez and InFEWS graduate fellows

Interdisciplinary and inter-institution collaboration discussion including discussion of best practices and recommendations for implementation. Discussion moderated by InFEWS trainees inviting conversation across previous days’ discussion topics. This session will facilitate teaching of co-innovation of FEWS with Indigenous and developing communities through the following breakout sessions: 

  • FEWS Sovereignty and Environmental Justice
  • Resilience to COVID-19 and Other Pandemics
  • Language and Cultural Brokers
  • Digital Transformations in Access and Development
 
 
  • Sustainable FEW Systems
  • Health and Wellbeing 
  • Multi-generational Perspectives on FEWS
  • STEAM Education: Broadening Participation
 
 
Thursday, June 18, 2020 

Second session

1:00pm – 2:30pm PDT
2:00pm – 3:30pm MDT
3:00pm – 4:30pm CDT
4:00pm – 5:30pm EDT

FEWS Innovation and Learning with K-12 Indigenous Students
Virtual field trip and Q&A moderated by Dr. Yael Perez 
Q&A to follow

Mark Sorenson, Director and CEO of  Star (Service to All Relations) Charter School hosts a Virtual Field Trip 
*Zhao Qiu, Self-Governance Administrator, Pinoleville Pomo Nation; The Pomo Youth College and Career Success Project Director
Ilena Yeru Pegan, Water Quality Specialist at Pinoleville Pomo Nation

 
 
Friday, June 19, 2020 

First (and only) session

10:00am – 12:00pm PDT
11:00am – 1:00pm MDT
12:00pm – 2:00pm CDT
1:00pm – 3:00pm EDT

Opportunities, Networking and Next Steps 
Panel discussion moderated by Dr. Alice Agogino

Discussion of funding opportunities, proposal best practices and successful inter-institution collaborations. Presenters include: 

John Weishampel, NSF
Erin Riley, NIFA-USDA
Michelle Baker, EPA
Carl Etsitty, USDA-APHIS Tribal Liaison
Lura “Jody” Chase, NSF TCU Program
Aaron Slater, Navajo Nation Officer, MIT SOLVE

Final Remarks and Closing Celebration

This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. DGE-1633740. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.

© 2020 Blum Center for Developing Economies

Design by Joseph Kim